Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newcomer Array
    Car:
    mazda 6, Civic ED '88

looking to buy an EK civic hatch: tips?

Hi guys,
    i've been driving my mazda 6 for about five years now, its got genuine kenstyle kit, rims etc etc but i've lost my grad. finance job, and i want to get a smaller, more efficient fun car.

always been a honda guy at heart, but a bit lost on the models.

question 1
    i'm looking at a '99 cxi. from what i have read, it has no tacho, no vtec, and no power windows. is it easy to get oem tacho, and power windows fitted? should i consider other models (EK4 too expensive for its age DC2R also expensive)

question 2
    i found a clean example with 130,000k on the clock with rego and rwc. is $6000 too much to pay? what else should i be looking at (potential problems?)

question 3
    would a CXi suffice? i'm worried i will be missing the creature comforts of my mazda 6. i really would like power windows and a tach at the very least ( i still cant drive manual properly), and no i wont be stripping it out to make it a track car.

any suggestions or recommendations you have would be really helpful! many thanks.

Member Array
    question 1 :
    id suggest you just go gli, they have all those options that you are missing, and to answer your q. its not that expensive to get power windows and oem tacho, but ull be doing a little shopping and sometimes patience!

question 2: sounds about right, if your fussy just check all the panels are straight and such, common problems with a ek i wouldnt know.

question 3:
    have you thought about an accord? or an eg? sounds like your car is simply for driving/crusing, id suggest look into a ek/eg as it sounds like your budget is around that area too. and since ur after features.
    gli >cxi

Member Array
    Car:
    Honda Civic EK
    man get a gli better brakes and more features in the car like power windows even sunroof, i got a cxi i wish i went for the GLI or EK4 only if i knew lol

Member Array