Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newcomer Array
    Car:
    White '99 EM1

Need some help on Shocks + springs for EM1

Hey guys,

so within the next 6weeks i want to lower my car + improve its handling.
    Now i know everyone will go COILOVERS COILOVERS COILOVERS!! but its about 1.3k for them plus every 10-12 000km they need revalving and that costs about $300.
    Also, i wont be racing/tracking the car so handling isnt a huge issue

So ive decided that a good pair of shocks + springs will be adequate for my needs of good handling + stance

Ive been told Koni Yellow shocks and king spring lows go together but im a bit of a novice on the suspension area.
    Could anyone just throw out some good shock/spring combos for an EM1?
    looking to lower it about 1.5-2inches

cheers =)
    BIZ| SELLING MY EM1!!! LINK BELOW!!!

Member Array
    Car:
    Honda Civic Ferio 99
    koni shocks with eibach springs would be better

me personally i use koni yellows with custom Kmac springs.

its not that much cheaper than coilovers

Member Array
    Car:
    EM1
    you'll find that the height and damper adjustment which the coilovers come with will be quite handy. id recommend looking for a good 2nd hand set like a BC N+.
    ++ mrwillz fan club ++

Newcomer Array
    Car:
    White '99 EM1
    yeh thats another thing about coilovers which would be good... but if i get a good height with the shock/springs it'd be fine.
    ill look into the eibach... from memory i think they're only 1.3" drop???

what other combos?

Member Array
    Car:
    green whip!
    question is, what's your budget?

better to get the best you can for your budget than just get anything that's 'cheap and reasonable'

Newcomer Array
    Car:
    White '99 EM1
    im willing to spend up to 1300 for a good shock/spring combo. and YES i know i can get coilovers for that price, but theres that revalving cost every 10-12000km which bugs me. im not tracking the car, so the springs and shocks will be fine