Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Opinions on purchasing high mileage s2000

Hello ozhonda members,
    I got quite interested in s2000 and found one that I could afford.
    I did some research on s2000 every night but I am no expert and want you pros' opinion.

The car I am looking is 1999 model with 170k km.
    The car comes with adjustable coilovers and swaybars, which makes me think that this car was used mainly as a daily car and some occassional tracking.

I am about to do the same, but I am planning to stay on this car for 5~10 years before I would have to change to a new car.
    Will the car last long enough with maintaining good performance?
    The owner claims to have log books.. are there any parts that I should change soon that's not part of the regular services?
    (I heard TCT and valve change... but I don't know too much about cars )

I want to know as much as I can before I pay a mechanic to check the car.
    (And I cannot check the car before mechanic does since its a interstate car)

Cheers!

Member Array
    Car:
    ED-209
    Welcome abourd my noob friend!

170,000 is nothing, but make sure the car is priced accordingly.

If it has been well maintained and hasn't been raped day in and out, the engine should go strong until at least 300,000kms. At this age, I would recommend oil changes every 5K.

Log book can be fudged, so don't trust them. If the guy has actual service receipts, you are on the right track.

And lastly, IMO buying interstate isn't worth the hassle, unless it's an ultra rare car.
    Last edited by Mikecivic78; 24-11-2011 at 07:57 PM.
    くまくま━━━━━━ヽ( ・(ェ)・ )ノ━━━━━━ !!

Member Array
    Car:
    AP1 S2000
    Basically what Mikecivic78 said, if the car (engine wise) has remained standard it's whole life, then 170k is not much to worry about. I would be more concerned about the chassis regarding accidents as you can't exactly swap out a chassis easily as opposed to an engine or other components