Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Member Array
    Car:
    DC5R

Painting plastic bumpers with a spray gun

Disclaimer: The following is provided as a GUIDE ONLY, and neither myself nor Ozhonda take any responsibility for the outcomes of someone else doing the following. You follow these steps at your own risk!

Hey so this is a guide to painting plastic bumpers, lips or pretty much anything plastic with a spray gun. In this DIY i only painted my front lip but the same process i used can be used to paint whole bumpers or kits with ether a spray gun or pressure pack. I'm by no means a professional but i have painted a few plastic body parts and they have turned out well but if you have any tips or anything let me know because im still learning.

Anyway i went on a road trip up to Byron and Nimbin not long ago and along the way my front suffered from major rock chips which eventually made the paint start peeling. i didnt get any before shots of the lip because i was too excited to get started but in this photo half way through stripping the paint u can see in the middle of the lip where there was no paint at all, thats how much the paint had peeled away.

Painting just the lip with a spray gun is a bit overkill as you could just do a decent job with a spray can but i wouldn't spray a whole bumper with a spray can as the job quality wouldn't be very good, so there is only two choices when it comes to painting large panels like a whole bumper, either get a paint shop to do it for you for around $300 or DIY for around $100 max.

So a few things you will need:
    - plastic primer
    - your paint
    - paint thinner
    - top clear coat (i got it in a spray can just because i was only painting the lip)
    - plastic bumper paint stripper
    - 400 and 800/1200 grit sandpaper
    - wax and grease remover
    - a clean enclosed area with good ventilation to paint in (i used my garage)
    - Painters protective mask

and of course you will need an air compressor and spray gun