Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Member Array
    Car:
    Prelude Vtir

Unhappy H22a 4WS ecu resolder

Hi Guys,

My 4WS is throwing a few tantrums. Checked the codes and its a 62. With a bit of research I think an ECU resolder is in order. Hopefully that will solve a few of the issues.
    My problem is I have very little experience with soldering/removing old solder. I can take it out but I was wondering if anyone would like to earn a slab o' beer for doing the electrical side of it?

I live in Melbourne......please help!

Member Array
    Car:
    I own an Engine
    Remove the 4WS all together, it's generally regarded as being a all around useless feature that causes more problems then what it's worth.

If you're keen on keeping it just youtube a how to solder video then go to Jaycar and get some simple bread board and some random cheap components and just keep soldering until you're confident.

Soldering is shit easy I picked that up back in year 8 in high school and I can still solder very neatly to this day.

Member Array
    Car:
    Prelude Vtir
    Cheers, I guess if I screw it up I can always just keep it permanently off. Im trying to do a few motorkhanas but im not sure that the 4WS actually does much to help in the first place but wouldn't mind keeping it working....

Member Array
    Car:
    I own an Engine
    It won't help a single bit for racing, it's all around considered useless - There's a reason why Honda dropped it all together.

Member Array
    Car:
    Prelude Vtir
    well its not like it ever will make a difference to the speed around a track but at 30kmh and less maneuverability is what motorkhana is all about

Member Array
    Car:
    I own an Engine
    Might be good to actually test it with and without the four wheel steering at the khana event.
    I've not seen any straight up comparison but everywhere I read generally has the same consensus as not worth it.