Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Hybrid View

1994 Civic World Time Attack Challenge

Aim: Build from the ground up a World Time Attack Challenge (WTAC) Racecar from the a 1994 EG Civic Hatchback.

Goal: Place in the top 10 open class at WTAC Open Class 2019

So welcome to what will undoubtably be an adventure and quest largely into the unknown. My background is Mechanical engineering and have spent the last 5 years building and racing cars but never something on this scale.

The Car: Well after much deliberation about which car would be best suited for such an application, and studying the WTAC open class rules, the decision of a hatchback was made and with a 1994 Honda Civic showing up for a tiny $400 with no signs of rust and slightly leaky engine, the purchase of a small yet incredibly slow and smelly car was made.

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	file1-min.jpg 
Views:	288 
Size:	116.0 KB 
ID:	30187

Name:	file-min.jpg 
Views:	278 
Size:	112.5 KB 
ID:	30188

Name:	file6-min.jpg 
Views:	288 
Size:	106.7 KB 
ID:	30189

Name:	file2-min.jpg 
Views:	285 
Size:	123.0 KB 
ID:	30190

The Plan:
    - Create or Find a CAD template of the car.
    - Begin the design of basic aerodynamic features
    - Strip the car of anything that will not be required and can sell on
    - Finalise the final body shape so production can begin on the 'wide body'
    - Create accurate CAD model of the engine bay
    - Select an engine, Make a CAD model and design mounts
    - Mount the new engine into car and start plumbing it in
    - Wire the new engine with the use of a MoTec ECU (Have past experience and a tuner)
    - Fit rollcage and seat along with any other internal safety devices
    - Finalise Design of Aerodynamics package
    - Manufacture the aerodynamics package
    - Fit and upgrade the suspension
    - Paint the car
    - Turn the key and hope it doesn't go boom!