Page 1 of 8 1234 ... LastLast
    Member Array
    Car:
    EH9 B16a

DIY: Type-R style red rocker cover

heres my rocker cover beofore and after images don't have in pics of when i was doing it tho i will write up my steps tho.. mind u i am a spray painter so alot of equipment u might have to get will cost a bit, easly done for around the $50 mark

before:

Shot with FinePix F410 at 2007-07-11

after:

Shot with FinePix F410 at 2007-07-11

TOOLS EQUIPMENT: 1 can of crinkle Red paint or any colour preferance (availyble from auto barn, repco, supercheap etc)
    Paint stripper, brush, gloves, mask etc
    Scotch bright pads X2
    Prepsol (wax and grease remover)
    1K metal base primer (also availible in pressure pack can)
    heater or oven;
    prob an option as i said i worked in a pint shop so had the oven availible to me, i read a DIY article on this ages ago where i think the bloke put his in the oven? unsure weather to do this if u do make sure its on low temp, and be patient as mine took 2 days to fully dry, try not to touch after finishing it as it leave finger marks in the paint and chips off VERY easilly!

STEP 1:
    first of all i did was pull the rocker covoer off, easy, coupla bolts and nuts and done, don't forget when u have it off to cover ur head on the engine with a towel or plastic or something to stop dirt and dust etc getting in..

STEP 2:
    second off i got my cam gear cover section cut out but a mate who is a fitter and turner machienest, so didn't cost me anyhitng, maybe not a nesesiry to some ppl but was wot i wanted as im gettin a coloured timming belt.

STEP 3:
    go to your local paint supplier prob repco super cheap etc, and get some paint stripper, (remeber to wear necesarry safter equop for this mask, GLOVES etc) my cover was already yellow as u can see from the pics which had just been painted straight over the factory crinkle finish black as most of yours would prob be,