Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

The Oil Thread Explained

Ok, after reading "The Oil Thread" it seems like there are a ot of people here that know NOTHING about engines and oils, and some that think that they do, and are mis-informed, and then some that do know the facts about oils. This is for the first two types of people.

I'm not having a dig at you, although I might sound harsh, but this is THE MOST IMPORTANT THING TO DO WITH YOUR CAR, ABOVE ALL ELSE!!!

One of the MOST important, and CRITICAL things to get right for your car is the OIL.

Just before you take the word of some raving lunatic who knows nothing about cars other than what was decided on by a few blokes drinking beer, peering at the engine with the hood up on the weekend... I'm a mechanic at the Ferrari dealership in Adelaide, Prestige Formula.

Lets get things rolling, because this is going to be a long post, and I'm going to cover everything, along with all the mistakes written by people in this thread, and again let me stress: JUST BECAUSE I CORRECT WHAT YOU HAVE SAID, DOESN'T MEAN I'M HAVING A DIG AT YOU OR SAYING YOU'RE AN IDIOT, I'M CORRECTING THE INFORMATION GIVEN TO YOU BY PEOPLE WHO DONT KNOW BETTER.

Lets get things started: