Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Newcomer Array
    Car:
    FD1-Facelifted

Unhappy N00B needs advice on cars, teggy vs. ek hatch

Hey everybody,
    I'm new to OZhonda and the car scene, however I've always been interested in cars, and I was wondering if anyone could help direct/advise me with the purchase of my first car.

My options are: a dc4 (gsi) facelifted teggy, ek1 hatch (gli) or an ej8 coupe. As I'm a year 12 student(still doing vce), my budget is relatively small, max 7k . I also have to consider the safety options of the car; disk brakes, driver's airbag, dual airbags etc.

I know that the b18b from teh gsi puts out around 107kw, and if I do a ls/vtec conversion will it give me a better low-end torque than a straight b18c? The average mileage done for a preface lifted teggy is probs 150,000kms + I don't want to invest my car in the boy-racer's "raped" car, I do want more power than the average "grandma sedan" so I thought that the teggy would be a good first car.

I also definately know that the d16y4 from the ek hatch is good for a daily drive (88kw), but may be a bit underpowered if it comes down to straightline power. Can anyone give me some insight into whether a "mini-me" conversion would be worth the money.

In addition would anyone be able to tell me how safe a ek hatch is? My father's trying to persuade me to buy either coupe or sedan, due to the boot which would serve as extra protection from a rear collision.

The ej8 seems to be quite worth the cash, however those are extremely rare as I'd be buying a manual and no one seems to be selling the coupes (manual) atm anyways.

I've already read heaps about the stats on his car on paper(redbook.com.au), nevertheless some 1st hand experience with the cars would be better. If anyone could help give me some advice on which would be the best value for my buck it would be much appreciated

Newcomer Array
    Car:
    CL9