Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Member Array
    Car:
    K20 nugget

Gearbox oil change: Possible strange issue. Clarification needed

Hey guys,

Today I thought I'd change my gearbox oil (amongst other things) Please note that I have changed gearbox oils before however this is my first time in the FN2.

Anyway I need some clarification. Attached is an image of my gearbox. Circled in red is what I understand is the fill hole, and circled in blue is the drain bolt/hole. Now, as you can see I have removed the bolt from the fill hole. The issue is, that when I did oil came out (and a lot of it)!

Attached is another picture of the oil that came out of the hole. I was under the impression NO oil should come out if this hole as it is the fill hole. Can anyone please clarify this? I did ask Honda to change the gearbox oil for me approximately 8,000kms ago.

Another note - The car was parked for approximately 3 hours before this bolt was removed. I did my engine oil just before doing this. The car is on level ground.

Did Honda overfill my gearbox? Or is this not the correct bolt? Need to know because it's out now and I can't drive anymore lol

Thanks guys!
    Andrew

Moderator Array
    Car:
    '90 EF8/'94 EH9
    Did you drain it first? Car jacked up evenly (front and back). Silly questions I know.

How do you overfill the GBox? Would just piss out...

Member Array
    Car:
    K20 nugget
    Quote Originally Posted by dougie_504 View Post
    Did you drain it first? Car jacked up evenly (front and back). Silly questions I know.

How do you overfill the GBox? Would just piss out...
    Car was jacked up evenly. I have no idea how the gearbox was overfilled!!! But when I undid the fill bolt the gearbox pissed all over me. Drained the gearbox and filled using the marked bolt. Gearbox feels much nicer and smoother... I am at a lost as to how this happened. Wonder if this could have caused any damage to the gearbox... It was feeling really notchy hence the change...