Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

First 1k service

Does anyone know what is involved with the first 1k service?
    I doubt that they drop the oil and filter at 1K or even at 5k.

I might do this at 1k-2k myself as I clock alot of km and can't be without a car for a day.

If you do your own oil and filter change with OEM parts at the proper intervals, will Honda still warrant the warranty? Or is this one of those grey areas.

I'm not a qualified mechanic but I have worked and rebuild engines from v-twins, inline 4, I6,V8 and even a couple of V12 from a SL600 Merc.

Member Array
    Car:
    Accord Euro CL9
    At 1k, usually it's just a check up to see if anything has gone wrong. Some dealers will claim that they change the oil, they won't. If you look at the book, it's just a check up to make sure nothing has come loose.

Member Array
    Car:
    lownslowsedan
    I know a few people that will do a half interval oil change the first time.

As for doing it yourself, no, you will loose your warranty unless you can get the log book stamped.
    to see all of my build, checkout

Member Array
    Car:
    EK4
    First Free Inspection. Also ask to get the oil+filter changed or do it yourself i would recommend this, as you are running in the motor pretty much. Don't think it will warrant the warranty.
    At Holden its at 3000km, we have had customers asking for an oil change at the inspection.
    WTB:
    -facelift rear bar 99-00 ek
    -Genuine Window visors.

Quote Originally Posted by BigBen View Post
    Does anyone know what is involved with the first 1k service?
    I doubt that they drop the oil and filter at 1K or even at 5k.

I might do this at 1k-2k myself as I clock alot of km and can't be without a car for a day.

If you do your own oil and filter change with OEM parts at the proper intervals, will Honda still warrant the warranty? Or is this one of those grey areas.