Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Member Array
    Car:
    1997 EK1 HATCH

What vtec engine should i get for my ek1 hatchback civic?

I dont have much money but that can be changed, I need a Vtec engine to fit my EK1 Civic, I need it for Daily Driving, Motorkhana/ hillclimb racing, so it needs to be smooth and competive.

And with your answer, please say why so I know the Ups and Downs and if you can, What do I need to change on the engine or engine bay to fit the engine. (Only Manual G/boxes too) And incase you are wondering, yes I am a noob, I owned my Civic since i was 15 cause it was going cheap in good nick and low kms and now I want to race it and make it a little bit like a JDM Sleeper.

Cheers!

Member Array
    Car:
    ek4
    Im assuming you are coming from a d series?.. If so then ill probably recommend a B18 engine. B16 would be fine too but you'll want some torque to do some hill climbs.

Crossing out the b16, theres the b18c2 and the b18c7. Theres also the jdm b18c which makes a bit more power than the c7. Out of them the cheapest is the b18c2 which features a two stage vtec and is found in the integra vtir. It is a good daily engine but if you want more power go straight to the c7 or jdm b18c from the integra type r.

With any of these conversions youll need the engine package which will include everything to install. Usually these come with eg/dc2 mounts so for ek you will need a set of ek mounts. You can go OEM which are found in the ek4 or em1, or go aftermarket like hasport or hardrace. Along with this you will need the loom from the em1 or ek4.

Other than that, everything should be alright. Hope this helps!
    team grade A

Member Array
    Car:
    Honda Jazz R
    Buy a B16A2, install B16B cam shafts, and B16B intake manifold, aftermarket headers, and exhaust. And you'll have your self one angry mofo VTEC cross over! But as its still only 1.6, it won't be very torquey but will be lots of fun...
    ALLIGATORS GOT A GATE

Member Array
    Car: