Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Member Array
    Car:
    Del Sol

H22 improvements

HI peoples just wanted to know if anyone had any ideas on what some simple additions i can make to my H series engine but still keeping it N/A

Cheers

Member Array
    Car:
    hondie 2000

H22 build-up – part 1: reliability/peace of mind

http://www.attackforums.com/showthre...&threadid=1110

Disclaimer:
    I just want to preface this by saying that I am not a professional mechanic or tuner, and that anything you take from this or do is at your own risk. I always strongly recommend getting information from multiple sources (not taking any one person’s word as gospel) and drawing your own conclusions as to what’s best for you and your car. All of that said, I’ll do the best I can to present logical & accurate information, and not lead anyone astray.

This series of posts will focus on upgrades aimed at the owner who is DIY oriented, willing to do their own research on the specifics of each job/modification, and interested in improving the H22’s power, driveability, reliability, and “fun-to-drive” factor - while keeping it naturally aspirated (no nitrous or forced induction). Many of these items will apply to those of you using the Accord’s SOHC F22 engine as well. For that matter, most of the principles should apply to any engine – there’s nothing particularly earth-shattering about any of this stuff.

First off, I highly recommend obtaining a Helms service manual if you plan on doing anything at all with this engine. They’re not cheap ($60-70), but anyone who has one will tell you it was the best investment they’ve ever made for their car. Every so often you can find used ones on eBay or the classifieds section of preludeoneline.com – which is another worthwhile investment. Membership to www.preludeonline.com costs $6 a year, but given the excellent writeups & knowledgeable member base, it’s well worth it in my opinion.