Member Array
    Car:
    2005 Civic GLi

Lowering my 05 Civic sedan

Hi folks,

I'm pretty new to the world of cars and car modding but I am really loving my new Honda and after seeing some awesome pictures I have decided mine would look great lowered so I was looking to do just that. It's pretty tough to find easy to understand information out there but from what I gather I only need to replace the springs. After looking around here I looked up the Eibach PRO-kit on eBay which is around $450 posted from the US. Is this all I need, plus installation? (I assume I can pay for somewhere here to do that for me) I am not sure if there is a better way to approach this or another way to do it, if someone could give me a quick rundown of features/benefits and costs of doing springs or the shock absorbers as per what I have read in the FAQ that would be very much appreciated. I was also looked at some new wheels with low profile tyres but that's another story Not sure if that will affect the lowering/suspension thing too.

Cheers

P.S. My car is an 05 Civic GLi if that helps.

Member Array
    Car:
    83, 85 &86 lude
    I'm at work so this will be short.

If you want to lower your car and have it last you shoul also think very seriously about the type of shocks you have. Lowering ANY car with springs alone will place greater stress on your shocks as the distance the shock can move up and down during regular driving is decreased (this is the "shock travel"). The more stress on your shocks the more chance there is of the shock botoming out, that is, exceeding the travel internally and hitting the casing evidenced by the "clunking" sound you will here. Ultimately this will lead to your shocks blowing and in the mean time some very poor ride feel.

Low profile tyres with only adjustable lowering springs will also make you feel the road more. You will feel every bump and crevise and the lower you go the more you will feel.