Question Advice on Jazz (CVT concerns)

Hi Guys, Newbie here.

I'm looking at buying a 2006 model Jazz for the wife. She wants an auto so the one we are looking at has the CVT. It has done just over 110k kms.

I don't know a lot about hondas, but have always considered them to be quite well built. Reading up on the net, I see alot about the CVT issues. Is this something that EVERY car is going to experience? If the car has no shuddering and a good service history what are the chances that it will be reliable? I don't mind having to change the CVT oil regularly, just wary of being up for large replacement cost if it goes.

Thanks guys.

Member Array
    Car:
    K20 nugget
    Not sure if it's luck of the draw but I can only provide you my experience. We bought a brand new Honda Jazz 1.3L automatic. While firstly I must say it was a brilliant, beautiful car with undoubtedly class leading practicality, the car was primarily driven by my elderly mother and the first gearbox died just after the 3 year mark.

Honda were brilliant though - Even though the car was out of warranty, they ordered a new gearbox and fitted it free of charge. From here, we started replacing the CVT transmission fluid every 6 months (yes, with the newer CVT oil). The gearbox still ended up shuddering after about 2.5 years (after the replacement). The mount died at 140,000kms which should be noted but that's just wear and tear. We had the dreaded delay from a stop which occurred randomly (accelerate, nothing, *clunk* and off you go). Everytime this happened we took it back in and 'recalibrate' it but it would come back after a few weeks. We ended up trading it in at the 170,000km mark.