Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

[Euro] Clutch Wear

Hey all,

I took my car for a drive after finally getting my stereo problems sorted out but it looks like my bad luck isn't letting up. I've noticed that the take up point of the clutch is further back than usual and that it doesn't seem to be gripping any where near as well as it use to. I've never driven a car from new before like this so don't know what it feels like to really wear in a clutch.

What do u think -

the clutch has somehow been damaged and may need replacment?

or

I'm a noob and don't know what a clutch feels like when it wears in?

I really hope its the second one becuase i know clutches are hard to get replaced under warranty

If I have to pay for a new one i guess thats an excuse for a racing clutch and lightweight fly wheel (probably cheaper than the real parts from honda)

Team YCD President Array
    Car:
    Honbaru Yum Cha
    Does it slip in say 5th/6th gear when you are picking up speeds in the freeway? (TELL TALE signs of slipping clutch)

Not sure what you mean by the clutch engaging further back, do you mean further away from where you are sitting or when you are letting go of the clutch, it takes more travel of the pedal before you feel it grabbing?

Advice is, go to the Dealer and ask

Good Luck
    146.8Kws @ Wheels Diesel CL9 Euro (SOLD), 2009 Honda VT Shadow, NC PRHT Mazda MX-5, Boxing SG Forester, Honda Civic Sport
    RenaultSport RS265 Trophy+

Team Yum Cha Daily - The Dim Sum Revolution

OzHonda's Public Relations Guru

I'll have to try it out this afternoon when i get the car back. I've actually taken it in to honda already and i've asked them to have a look at it.

"it takes more travel of the pedal before you feel it grabbing" is what i meant to say (further back as in i have to release it for a greater distance).