Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Newcomer Array
    Car:
    LOOKING FOR DC5

Question 5th Gen Air Filter and Head Lights

Hi guys.. I've got a 2000 model prelude VTiR.. I have little knowledge about modification.. I have heard from a friend that by changing the air filter you can achieve great sound from engine (air sucking sound rather)..

Anyone know where I can buy this kind of air filter?

Also I've seen one 5 Gen prelude with really white head lights. Just wondering where I can get those bulbs as well.. Thanks..

Array
    Car:
    Disco Potato
    2000 model VTiR, ur mate was prob talkin about a CAI (cold air intake). i doubt by just replacing the stock air filter to a new own will make that noise ur mate is referring to. a pod filter/cold air intake will give u a deep throaty sound.
    check out ebay. theres a few CAI's for preludes, incl. aem and injen

it could be that the 5th gen u saw had HID's. its either that guy had HID conversions or replaced the bulbs to something like PHILIPS DIAMOND VISIONS. again, basically up to u how much u wanna pay. for HID kits, it can start from 300 bucks or so to replace the whole headlight and to convert ur lights from halogen to HID (high intensity gas discharge). if u just want to keep the halogens, u can get HID "style" halogen bulbs such as the diamond/crystal visions. 2000 ludes have H1 bulbs for both high beam and low beam. Autobarn sells these. you might wanna check out traders section too.
    Also, if u want to change ur lights to HID, again, trader section.
    Fast and furious? I drive slow and luxurious...

Newcomer Array
    Car:
    LOOKING FOR DC5
    stephen8512, thank you very much. You answered all my question and it is really helpful. Really appreciate your help. Cheers...

Yep, u wont get much induction noise just from changing the panel filter...Most likely get a SRI or a CAI if ur lookin for induction noise.