Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

losing engine oil

hi there,

y or how does an engine lose oil? given that there are no leaks. my car often has an odd smell on the outside when i get out of the car. it's a civic 99.

thru combustion. Either worn piston rings , or the PCV system , or the valve stem seals are worn....

Install a oil catch can to prevent some oil getting burnt off...or look at replacing the valve stem seals OR rebuild the bottom end.

moved to the noob forum

Member Array
    Car:
    EG Sedan w/JDM ZC
    pretty sure this has been covered heaps.
    basically you're probly burning oil (which is pretty bad for a '99). most likely from either worn piston rings or valve stem seals.
    search "burning oil"

EDIT: bah! beaten by seconds

Member Array
    HAHA you got sloppy seconds!!!

Member Array
    Car:
    98 EK9 CTR
    doesn't using the wrong oil cause this too? if the oil is too "thin" it'll burn faster in ya car?

yer, i'm a noob with this one...
    arrowz

OTO-KREW

what sort of money are we talkin abt to fix these 3 causes?
    1 - Either worn piston rings
    2 - The PCV system
    3 - The valve stem seals are worn

btw, y do the above happen? just age or sth else?

replace the PCV ~ its something u apparently should do or check every major service. The valve stem seals arent too hard to replace , a good mechanic SHOULD be able to replace them without taking the head off. And finally to replace the rings is a "rebuild" effort really.
    Using thicker oil prevents some oil loss in all the above situations (which really is , that clearances have loosened over time due to age/wear)

Member Array
    Car:
    Honda Integra
    I had a similar problem, is it disapearing oil?? and the smell is the oil dripping on to the exhaust. it could be a cracked head gasket, look for heavy exhaust fumes also. maybe rear main seal?

bottom or top gasket seal are leaking most probably behind the engine bay where it is not visable

Member Array
    Car:
    Jazz EVO IX