Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Newcomer Array
    Car:
    1990 Honda Prelude

Question 1990 Prelude Si Japanese Import - to buy or not to buy?

Hi all,
    I've searched the forums as best I know how (given I'm a newbie ) for some advice on buying a 2-owner 1990 Prelude (which was a family owned car, privately imported from Japan) but have had no luck. I am buying the car as a surprise for my Mum and am unsure if I am getting myself into a whole load of trouble.

Pluses:
    110 km's - which I believe are genuine
    Not souped or blinged-up -all original and no major accidents
    $5k asking price (negotiable)
    Drives really well
    All electrics OK.

Minuses:

No service books, but current owner has done the basics regularly
    Could use a major service
    Aircon not cold, though compressor operating ok
    Needs a total detail
    Small 'carpark' dents here and there, but no rust

I am told by Honda that because it is an import, getting parts will be extremely difficult and that diagnostics may not work with Australian service agents - is this true?

I am thinking I should offer in the region of $2-2.5k. What does someone think?

I do hope someone can help, as after reading many a good review on this car, I am now somewhat frightened! Any advice would be most appreicated.

Aaron

Member Array
    Car:
    CZ4A,EG-K,PP-K
    does Australia has the car? if it does it is not a problem for servicing and spare parts are not hard too.
    what engine does it have?

any pictures of it?
    Unicorn: K20R Honda Beat PP1
    BTMotorsports
    JDM Auto Link - Your source for new and pre-owned JDM parts

Newcomer Array
    Car:
    1990 Honda Prelude
    Hi there, not suire what you mean by "does Australia have the car?".... would you be so kind as to explain for me? Cheers! Aaron

Member Array
    Car:
    pogo stick
    have you got a link to this car?
    pictures for us to inspect the damage?