Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Ported sub box or sealed?!

Whats better for car audio system?

what difference does it make?

Member Array
    Car:
    Honda Accord 1998 V6-L
    I'm a noob in car audio, but as far as i no, ported gives you louder bass, SPL or somthing, and sealed is meant to give you better sound quality, so as far as i no it depends of you just want it to be loud or if you want it to sound sweet, also some subs are designed for a sealed box and others ported and most work well in either. Audio Guru's Please correct me if I am wrong, also interested in hearing what some of you have to say.
    See my Car here
    Honda Accord 1998 V6-L VTEC.
    Carputer
    MySpace come say hi

I would just go with seal... easier to get it right.

Most ported box that are poorly made (spec not correct, too small or port length too short) tend to be boomy and noisy.

Quote Originally Posted by Dray_Templar View Post
    I'm a noob in car audio, but as far as i no, ported gives you louder bass, SPL or somthing, and sealed is meant to give you better sound quality, so as far as i no it depends of you just want it to be loud or if you want it to sound sweet, also some subs are designed for a sealed box and others ported and most work well in either. Audio Guru's Please correct me if I am wrong, also interested in hearing what some of you have to say.
    ported box can be made for SQ purpose also, but its a lot teadious to do so... if you check out home audio stuffs, most of the bookshelf, floorstanders, subs are in ported box.

Exactly.

the Difference is that Ported is louder/ more efficient.

Though ported is hard to get right, if you don't make the box properly, a number of things could make the sub sound like shit- hence why people say sealed is for SQ, cause it sounds better, but the reason is because they heard a shittly tuned ported box.

Sealed is easy to make, and is easy to get right/ more forgiveable.